Search our Site
CPPS Recertification
Share |

The Certified Professional in Patient Safety (CPPS) program certifies health care professionals who meet the competency requirements in the areas of patient safety science and human factors engineering, and who demonstrate the ability to apply this knowledge to effectively plan and implement patient safety initiatives.

Following successful completion of the CPPS examination, the certificant is required to maintain certification by fulfilling continuing education (CE) requirements, which are reviewed and established by the Certification Board for Professionals in Patient Safety (CBPPS).

Recertification cycle: 3 years
Two paths to recertification are available:
Recertification Path I includes obtaining and maintaining documentation of 45 CE hours over the recertification cycle and payment of a recertification fee.
Accepted types of CE:
  • All CE that follows the CPPS content outline is accepted.
  • CE options include: educational programs, self-study, CPPS item writing, academic course work, and more.

Recertification Path II
requires sitting for and passing the CPPS Examinations within one year prior to expiration date.

Click here to download the CPPS Recertification Handbook.


more Calendar

10/24/2019 » 10/30/2019
Patient Safety Executive Development Program

Copyright ©2019 Institute for Healthcare Improvement. All Rights Reserved.

Membership Software  ::  Legal