Groups   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Search our Site
NPSF News & Press: Industry News

2014 Eisenberg Awards Announced

Monday, March 9, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Patricia McTiernan
Share |

The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum recently announced the recipients of the 2014 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards.

  • Mark L. Graber, MD, FACP, senior fellow, Health Care Quality and Outcomes Program, RTI International, was chosen to receive the award for individual achievement. Dr. Graber is a member of the American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety at NPSF and founder of the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine.

  • The American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program (NSQIP) will receive the award for Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the National Level.

  • North Shore/LIJ Health System is to receive the award for innovation at the local level in recognition of a system-wide initiative to reduce mortality from sepsis. North Shore/LIJ Health System is a founding member of the NPSF Stand Up for Patient Safety program.

“NPSF is proud to count Mark Graber and North Shore/LIJ Health System among our membership,” said Tejal K. Gandhi, MD, MPH, CPPS, president and CEO of NPSF and a 2009 Eisenberg Award recipient. “I know I speak for the NPSF staff and our boards in sending my congratulations to all of the Eisenberg Award recipients for their impressive work in improving patient safety and health care quality.” 


The awards will be presented at NQF’s 2015 Annual Conference on March 23-24, 2015, in Washington, DC. The May 2015 issue of The Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety also will feature details about the achievements of each of the award recipients.


NPSF sends congratulations to all.


Read the press release at


Copyright ©2018 Institute for Healthcare Improvement. All Rights Reserved.

Membership Software  ::  Legal