Groups   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Search our Site
NPSF News & Press: Lucian Leape Institute

Six Authors of Winning Patient Safety Essays to be Recognized at NPSF Congress

Friday, May 18, 2012   (0 Comments)
Share |

The Doctors Company Foundation and the Lucian Leape Institute, in Partnership, Present Young Physicians Patient Safety Awards

BOSTON, MA (May 18, 2012) – The Doctors Company Foundation, in partnership with the Lucian Leape Institute at the National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF), has announced the winners of The Doctors Company Foundation Young Physicians Patient Safety Awards, which recognize young physicians for their deep personal insight into the significance of patient safety work.

The awards will be conferred at the 14th Annual NPSF Patient Safety Congress to be held May 23-25, 2012, in Washington, DC. This year’s award winners are:

Elizabeth Butler, BA, University of Massachusetts
Brian A. Freeman, MPH, CPH, University of Louisville School of Medicine
Kevin Koo, MPhil, Yale University School of Medicine
Lorette Johnson, MSIII, SUNY Upstate Medical University
Andrew Robert Lee, BS, Washington University in St. Louis
Joshua M. Liao, BA, BS, Baylor College of Medicine

The winners were chosen from a field of third- and fourth-year medical students and first-year residents who were in hospital settings as of June 2011 or later. Candidates meeting the criteria were eligible to submit an essay explaining their most instructional patient safety event, one that resulted in a personal transformation.

The awards will be conferred at the Patient Safety Congress, adjacent to the Lucian Leape Town Hall plenary session on Friday, May 25, 2012. Winners of this prestigious award are also provided with registration and travel expenses to this highly respected patient safety conference, helping to further their commitment to patient safety, and $5,000 each.

This year’s Patient Safety Congress will be held at the Gaylord National Hotel & Convention Center in Washington, DC. This annual meeting is a cornerstone of the National Patient Safety Foundation’s educational activities and the only conference whose sole focus is sharing the latest best practices and tools for delivering safe patient care.

The winning essays will be available on the NPSF Congress website,, after the close of the meeting.

About the Doctors Company Foundation
Created in 2008 by the largest national insurer of medical liability for physicians, surgeons and other health professionals, the Doctors Company Foundation provides charitable grants to support patient safety research, forums and pilot programs, patient safety education programs and medical liability research.

About the Lucian Leape Institute at NPSF
The Lucian Leape Institute at NPSF was formed in 2007 to provide a strategic vision for improving patient safety. Composed of national thought leaders with a common interest in patient safety, the Institute functions as a think tank to identify new approaches to improving patient safety.

About the National Patient Safety Foundation
NPSF has been pursuing one mission since its founding in 1997–to improve the safety of care provided to patients. As a central voice for patient safety, NPSF is committed to a collaborative, multi-stakeholder approach in all that it does. NPSF is an independent, not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. To learn more about the work of the National Patient Safety Foundation, please visit:

Copyright ©2018 Institute for Healthcare Improvement. All Rights Reserved.

Membership Software  ::  Legal