Groups   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Search our Site
NPSF News & Press: NPSF Press Releases

Patient Safety Leaders Join NPSF Governing Boards

Wednesday, January 18, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

Leaders in Patient Safety Join National Patient Safety Foundation Governing Boards


Boston, MA (January 18, 2017)— The National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF), a central voice for patient safety since 1997, has announced new appointments to the Foundation’s Board of Directors and Board of Advisors.


Trent Haywood, MD, JD, joins the NPSF Board of Directors for a term of three years. Dr. Haywood is president of Blue Cross Blue Shield Institute and senior vice president and chief medical officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield Association.


Karen Frush, MD, CPPS, chief patient safety officer for Duke University Health System, and vice president for quality at LifePoint Health, has also been named to the Board of Directors, having previously served on the NPSF Board of Advisors.


Newly appointed to two-year terms on the NPSF Board of Advisors are Jason Adelman, MD, MS, chief patient safety officer and associate chief quality officer at Columbia University Medical Center/NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, and Eric Thomas, MD, MPH, professor of medicine and associate dean for healthcare quality at University of Texas Medical School at Houston, where he is also director of the UT Houston-Memorial Hermann Center for Healthcare Quality and Safety.


“We are very pleased to welcome these new board members in this, our 20th anniversary year,” said Tejal K. Gandhi, MD, MPH, CPPS, president of NPSF. “The breadth of experience that our board members hold is testament to the growth of the patient safety field and helps to guide the Foundation in fulfilling its mission.”


The NPSF Board of Directors provides strategic and operational oversight and is vested with fiduciary responsibilities for the Foundation. The NPSF Board of Advisors offers advisory direction and insight on NPSF program development, in keeping with the Foundation’s mission. Mary Beth Navarra-Sirio, MBA, RN, co-founder and principal consultant at Sirio2 Healthcare Innovations is the current chair of the Board of Directors. Sam R. Watson, MSA, CPPS, MT (ASCP), senior vice president for patient safety and quality and executive director of the MHA Keystone Center, currently chairs the Board of Advisors.

“I know the other members of the NPSF boards join me in enthusiastically welcoming our new members,” said Ms. Navarra-Sirio. “We are fortunate to be working with a group of leaders that represent a broad range of expertise.”

For more information about the Foundation’s governance and complete lists of the NPSF Board of Directors and Board of Advisors, visit our website,


About the National Patient Safety Foundation

The National Patient Safety Foundation’s vision is to create a world where patients and those who care for them are free from harm. A central voice for patient safety since 1997, NPSF partners with patients and families, the health care community, and key stakeholders to advance patient safety and health care workforce safety and disseminate strategies to prevent harm. NPSF is an independent, not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. To learn more about the Foundation’s work, visit and follow @theNPSF on Twitter.


Media contact:

Patricia McTiernan



more Calendar

Webcast: Fresh Facts: Hospital Falls and Fall Prevention

9/10/2018 » 9/12/2018
IHI/BMJ International Forum on Quality & Safety in Healthcare

Copyright ©2018 Institute for Healthcare Improvement. All Rights Reserved.

Membership Software  ::  Legal