Search our Site
NPSF News & Press: NPSF in the News

Becker’s Hospital Review Recognizes Patient Safety Experts

Thursday, April 21, 2016   (0 Comments)
Share |

Becker’s Hospital Review recently released its list of 50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety—2016. Among them areTejal K. Gandhi, MD, MPH, CPPS, president of NPSF and of the NPSF Lucian Leape Institute; Lucian Leape, MD, founding chair and current member of Institute; and Bob Wachter, MD, professor and interim chair of the Department of Medicine University of California San Francisco, who is also a member of the Institute.

Also recognized are the following members of the NPSF governance:


Karen Frush, MD, CPPS, is vice president of quality, LifePoint Health (Brentwood, TN) and chief patient safety officer, Duke University Health System. She is a member of the American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety (ASPPS) at NPSF and serves on the NPSF Board of Advisors.


Helen Haskell, MA, is president of Mothers Against Medical Error. She is a member of ASPPS and serves on the NPSF Board of Directors.


Also on the list are others affiliated with NPSF:


David J. Ballard, MD, PhD, is chief quality officer for Baylor Scott & White Health (Dallas), a member of the NPSF Stand Up for Patient Safety program. He is also President of the STEEEP Global Institute.


Mark Jarrett, MD, CPPS, is chief quality officer, senior vice president and associate chief medical officer, Northwell Health; and professor of medicine, Hofstra Northwell Health School of Medicine. Dr. Jarret is a member of ASPPS. Northwell Health is a member of the NPSF Stand Up for Patient Safety Program.

Dr. Jarrett is also serving as moderator of the Certified Professional in Patient Safety Review Course being held on site May 23 at the NPSF Patient Safety Congress in Scottsdale.


Anne Hendrich, PhD, RN, is senior vice president and chief quality/safety and nursing officer, Ascension Health, a founding member organization of the NPSF Stand Up for Patient Safety program. Dr. Hendrich is also on the faculty of the 18th Annual NPSF Patient Safety Congress.


Elizabeth A. Mort, MD, is senior vice president for Quality and Safety at Massachusetts General Hospital (Boston), which is also a member of the NPSF Stand Up for Patient Safety Program. Dr. Mort is also on the faculty for the 2016 NPSF Congress.

Kaveh G. Shojania, MD, is editor-in-chief of BMJ Quality &Safety, and also served as co-chair of the expert panel convened by NPSF, whose work resulted in the report, Free from Harm: Accelerating Patient Safety Improvement Fifteen Years after To Err Is Human.


The following members of the American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety (ASPPS) at NPSF are also on the list:


Carol Barsky, MD, vice president, chief quality and patients safety officer of Hackensack (NJ) University Health Network

Mark Graber, MD, senior fellow in the Healthcare Quality and Outcomes Program, RTI International, and founder, Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine.

Brian Kaminski, DO, vice president of Patient Safety and Quality and Patient Safety Officer at ProMedica (Toledo, Ohio)

Brigitta Mueller, MD, MHCM, vice president of Medical Affairs and Chief Patient Safety Officer at All Children's Hospital Johns Hopkins Medicine (St. Petersburg, FL)

Ronald Wyatt, MD, MHA, patient safety officer of the Joint Commission


See the complete list on the Becker's website here.

more Calendar

10/24/2019 » 10/30/2019
Patient Safety Executive Development Program

Copyright ©2019 Institute for Healthcare Improvement. All Rights Reserved.

Membership Software  ::  Legal