Search our Site
NPSF News & Press: Members In the News

ASPPS Members in the News, November 2015

Thursday, November 19, 2015   (0 Comments)
Share |

Members of the American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety have been making news in November.

Dr. Timothy Morgenthaler, chief patient safety officer, Mayo Clinic, recently co-authored an article arguing for new approaches and new investment in tools, care environment, and caregivers to move patient safety to the next level. Read his article, Getting Rid of Never Events in Hospitals, on the Harvard Business Review blog.

Dr. Mark Graber, founder of the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine, served on the IOM committee that produced the new report on improving diagnosis, recently co-authored a perspectives piece in the New England Journal of Medicine. Read Improving Diagnosis in Health Care—The Next Imperative for Patient Safety.

Chenel Trevellini, MSN, RN, CWOCN, authored an American Nurse Today special report about a new tool developed by the American Nurses Association in collaboration with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Partnership for Patients. Read Operationalizing the ANA CAUTI Prevention Tool in Acute-Care Settings.

Judy Tupper, DHEd, CHES, CPPS, published an op-ed on how showing gratitude can help health care workers be more resilient, experience less burnout, and consequently, be better at patient safety and other key responsibilities. Read her piece in the Portland Press Herald.


Congratulations, Members
The Certified Professional in Patient Safety credential attests to competency in patient safety science and application. Those attaining the CPPS designation represent a group of committed professionals from across health care who are determined to advance the patient safety field. We send congratulations to the following ASPPS members who recently became certified:

Charl Lynn Bennett, CPHRM, RN, CPPS
Hoyt Jeffery Burdick, MD, CPPS
Cheryl Congrove, CCM, CPHQ, MHA, RN, CPPS
John M. Delacruz, MS, MT, CPPS
Sharon Lizabeth Fiveash, RN, MSN, BSN, CPPS
Lesli Giglio, CPHRM, CPPS
Altricia Harrell, RN, CPHRM, CPPS
Lauren Hollenbeck, RHIA, CPHRM, CPHQ, FASHRM, CPPS
Linda Hunter, MSN, DNP, CPPS
Rana Kaminski, CMA, CPC, CPPS
Shirley G. Legaspi, RN,MSN, CPPS
Karen M. Mueller, BSN, MBA, CPPS
Samantha Port, MBA, DNP, RNC-OB, C-EFM, CPPS
Ahmed Abd Elbasir Saad, CPHQ, CPPS
Kathy Silay, MJ, CPPS
Jennifer Lynn Tatro, BSN, MSN, CPHQ, CPPS
Kathleen Weeks, RN, JD, CPPS

more Calendar

10/24/2019 » 10/30/2019
Patient Safety Executive Development Program

Copyright ©2019 Institute for Healthcare Improvement. All Rights Reserved.

Membership Software  ::  Legal