Groups   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Search our Site
Julianne M. Morath, RN, MS
Share |
Julianne Morath, RN, MS, is a recognized expert in health care quality and patient safety. She serves as President and CEO of the Hospital Quality Institute (HQI), a collaboration of the California Hospital Association and three Regional Associations. She is a founding and current member of the NPSF Lucian Leape Institute.
Prior to joining HQI, Morath served as Chief Quality and Patient Safety Officer for Vanderbilt University Medical Center. She serves on the Board of Commissioners of The Joint Commission and the Board of the Virginia Mason Medical Center and Health System. Morath is a past member of the National Quality Forum Best Practices Committee, and member of the Advisory Board to the Association of the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI). Recently, she was named by Becker Hospital Review as one of the top 50 experts leading patient safety.

Author of two books, The Quality Advantage and To Do No Harm, Morath has published widely on topics of quality, patient safety, leadership and patient/family engagement. She is a frequent speaker and consultant within the United States and internationally, including Canada, the Netherlands, Denmark, Sweden and Norway. Morath’s work in patient safety has been featured on the cover of U.S. News & World Report and has been the focus of two Harvard Business School case studies in leadership.

Morath has more than three decades of executive and academic experience in health care that includes the University of Cincinnati, Brown University, University of Rhode Island, University of Minnesota, and Vanderbilt University. Her work is distinguished through translating research into practice and building cultures of safety and excellence. Before joining Vanderbilt, Morath served as COO of Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota. She is on the editorial boards of American Nurse and the Journal of Quality and Patient Safety.

Among her many awards, Morath was the inaugural recipient of the John Eisenberg Award for Individual Lifetime Achievement in Patient Safety, awarded through The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum; received Finalist for the Quest for Quality Award from the AHA; and the Industry Leader Award from the Minnesota Business Community.


July 2015

Copyright ©2018 Institute for Healthcare Improvement. All Rights Reserved.

Membership Software  ::  Legal