Groups   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Search our Site
2012 Patient Safety Congress
Share |

2012 Congress: Patient Safety 365

The 14th Annual NPSF Patient Safety Congress was held May 23-25, 2012, at the Gaylord National Hotel and Convention Center in National Harbor, MD. The year’s theme, Patient Safety 365: Every day, every patient, was designed to drive home the fundamental tenet that patient safety must remain front and center for all of us, in all care setting, and at all times.

The Pre-Congress day included four full- or half-day programs:

  • Leadership Day: Leading Your Organization to Success in Today’s Changing Environment — Sustainability Strategies and Tactics for Improved Safety, Quality, and Financial Outcomes
  • Measurement Boot Camp: Strategies and Tactics for the Real World
  • Patent Safety: Fundamentals for a Fair and Just Culture
  • Patient Safety: Skill Development for a Fair and Just Culture

The Congress featured four plenary sessions:

  • Engaging Patients: A Simulation
  • Was It Really a Miracle on the Hudson?
  • Lucian Leape Institute Town Hall
  • The Patient Safety Culture Proposition: 16 Design Laws to Observe, 5 Skills We Must Develop

Thirty breakout sessions were held in six tracks:

  • Embracing the Team
  • Engineering Workflow and Leveraging Technology
  • Hot Topics
  • Integrating Care Continuum
  • Reforming Health Care / Advancing Quality and Safety
  • Shaping the Culture


Stand Up for Patient Safety Management Award

The Stand Up for Patient Safety Management Award is granted to a member hospital of the National Patient Safety Foundation’s Stand Up for Patient Safety program in recognition of the successful implementation of an outstanding patient safety initiative that was led by, or created by, mid-level management. The initiative will have demonstrated evidence of patient safety improvement, with involvement of staff at all levels of the organization. The recipient hospital shall be able to demonstrate measurable, positive changes in care delivered at their facility as a result of this initiative.


The 2012 Stand Up for Patient Safety Management Award was conferred upon Lallie Kemp Regional Medical Center in Independence, La., part of the Louisiana State University system, at the Stand Up Member Breakfast on Thursday, May 24, 2012.


The Doctors Company Foundation Young Physicians Patient Safety Award

The Doctors Company Foundation, in partnership with the Lucian Leape Institute at the National Patient Safety Foundation, presents The Doctors Company Foundation Young Physicians Patient Safety Award to recognize young physicians for their deep personal insight into the significance of patient safety work.


The winners are chosen from a field of third- and fourth-year medical students and first-year residents who were in hospital settings as of June 2011 or later. Candidates meeting that criteria were eligible to submit essays explaining their most instructional patient safety event, one that resulted in a personal transformation.


The awards were conferred on Friday, May 25, 2012, prior to the Lucian Leape Institute Town Hall plenary. The 2012 award winners were: 

  • Elizabeth Butler, BA, University of Massachusetts
  • Brian A. Freeman, MPH, CPH, University of Louisville School of Medicine
  • Kevin Koo, MPhil, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Lorette Johnson, MSIII, SUNY Upstate Medical University
  • Andrew Robert Lee, BS, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Joshua M. Liao, BA, BS, Baylor College of Medicine  

Click on essays below to read - note that sequence of essays below does not correspond with the names above, in order to protect privacy.


Essay 1

Essay 2

Essay 3

Essay 4

Essay 5

Essay 6




Hospital Corporation of America
Lexington Insurance

Premier healthcare alliance
3M Health Care

The Doctors Company Foundation


Laerdal Medical

Society for Simulation in Healthcare

VHA Inc.

Cadence Pharmaceuticals
MedicAlert Foundation
Zynx Health

American Hospital Association
Baxter International Inc.
Kaiser Permanente
Michigan Hospital Association
National Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems


Modern Healthcare
Patient Safety & Quality Healthcare



Abbott Diabetes Care
ACF Technologies Inc
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
American College of Surgeons
American College of Surgeons (NSQIP)
Banyan International Corporation
B-Line Medical
Cadence Pharmaceuticals
CAE Healthcare
Cardinal Health
Care Team Connect
Dalcon Communications
Department of Defense (DoD)
Dialog Medical
ECRI Institute
Ekahau Inc
Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research
Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
Frank Mobility Systems
Gaumard Scientific
GE Healthcare
GOJO Industries
HCA Healthcare
HyGreen Inc
Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)
Laerdal Medical
Limbs & Things
Medical Simulation Corporation
Medkinetics LLC
National Patient Safety Foundation
Nestle Health Science
Ohio Medical Corporation
Pascal Metrics
Patient Safety & Quality Healthcare
PDR Network
PercuVision LLC
PharMEDium Services LLC
Quantros Inc
ReadyPoint Systems
RF Surgical
RL Solutions
Sage Products
Society for Simulation in Healthcare
Standard Register Healthcare
Surgicount Medical
Swisslog Healthcare Solutions
The Doctors Company
The Joint Commission
The Sullivan Group
UIC Patient Safety Leadership Program
University Healthsystem Consortium (UHC)
Ventana Medical Systems Inc


2012 Patient Safety Congress

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
2012 Congress Program PDF (9.28 MB) Administration 7/10/2014
2012 Congress Simulation Center Guide PDF (411.47 KB) Administration 7/10/2014
2012 Congress At A Glance PDF (863.96 KB) Administration 7/10/2014
more Calendar

5/15/2019 » 5/17/2019
IHI Patient Safety Congress

Copyright ©2018 Institute for Healthcare Improvement. All Rights Reserved.

Membership Software  ::  Legal