Groups   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Search our Site
2015 Congress Day 1 Recap
Share |



2015 Congress Day 1 Recap

Thursday, April 30, 2015


After an exceptionally full Pre-Congress day, NPSF President and Chief Executive Officer Tejal K. Gandhi, MD, MPH, CPPS, kicked off the full Congress program with a heartfelt welcome to attendees that touched upon her personal experiences.


"This work is incredibly important and hard," she said, "and events like this Congress hopefully can help re-energize and rejuvenate all of our passions to improve patient safety."

News from Congress

NPSF announced the news that Dr. Gary Kaplan, CEO of Virginia Mason Medical Center, has been named chair of the NPSF Lucian Leape Institute, the Foundation's think tank. Dr. Leape, founding chair of the Institute, will remain as a member. Read the news release.


The announcement was preceded by a video tribute to Dr. Leape.


Several awards were conferred on Day 1 of Congress.

The John Q. Sherman Award for Excellence in Patient Engagement, conferred by Standard Register Healthcare and in conjunction with the Lucian Leape Institute, was given to North Shore/LIJ Health System.


Read more.

The NPSF DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses honored one individual and one team. Michael Blomquist, RN, CCRN, of University of Kansas Medical Center received the individual award. The Serious Communicable Diseases Unit of Emory University Hospital received the team award.


Read more about the honorees.


The 2015 Stand Up for Patient Safety Management Award, which are given to one inpatient and one ambulatory member of the Stand Up for Patient Safety Program for an outstanding patient safety initiative, went to North Shore/LIJ Health System (a founding member of the Stand Up program) and to University of Mississippi Medical Center.


Read more.

more Calendar

1/27/2017 » 2/1/2017
SSH Research Summit and International Meeting on Simulation in Healthcare

Professional Learning Series Webcast: Sleep Deprivation, Health Care Providers, and Patient Safety

Copyright ©2017 National Patient Safety Foundation. All Rights Reserved.
Membership Software  ::  Legal