Groups   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Search our Site
2015 Congress Day 2 Recap
Share |



2015 Congress Day 2 Recap

Friday, May 1, 2015

The final day of the 2015 NPSF Patient Safety Congress brought a very eventful day of keynotes, breakouts, networking, simulations, and poster awards. Check the highlights below.

News Updates

Our opening keynote speaker, Dr. Kaveh Shojania, editor-in-chief of BMJ Quality & Safety, discussed the hot topics in research over the past year, with commentary on what was interesting or provocative about the studies.


Prior to the session, we were pleased to share news of new resources from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ):

  • The 2014 National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report
  • The AHRQ Patient Safety Chartbook

Read more


From H&HN, coverage of Thursday's keynote with speakers Kim Blanton, Chrissie Blackburn, and Beth Daley Ullem.


Read the article.

H&HN Interview with Dr. Gary Kaplan


In follow-up to Thursday's announcement of Dr. Kaplan being named chair of the NPSF Lucian Leape Institute, this interview covers the Institute's future focus.


View the video.


H&HN Interview with Dr. Tejal Gandhi


Posted Thursday, this video features Dr. Gandhi's comments on the focus of this year's NPSF Congress.


View the video.


Closing Session and Poster Awards

Our closing keynote speaker, Dr. Allan Frankel, discussed the Nimble Culture, with a far-reaching presentation that touched upon burnout, successful tactics for learning culture, and creating an environment where people want to work.

Poster Awards
Prior to the closing keynote, NPSF was thrilled to award several honors for outstanding poster presentations:

People’s Choice Award: Children's Mercy Hospital and Cliinics, Innovative Auditing to Enhance Frontline Nurse Participation in Reducing CA-BSIs (Poster 42). S. Hensley, RN, CCRN; B. Duggins, BSN, RN; J. Jameson, BSN, RN; S. Pennington, BSN, RN, CCRN; J. Shellhorn, RN, CCRN; M. Waddell, BSN, RN, CCRN; P. Bauer, MD; K. Baharaeen, BSN, RN, CCRN; T. Benton, MD, MSCI; and L. Bradburn, BSN, RN, CCRN

Excellence in Action Learning (Projects of the AHA-NPSF Patient Safety Leadership Fellows): Kansas Healthcare Collaborative, Taking It to the Next Level: Early Elective Delivery (EED) Prevention in Kansas Hospitals (Poster 17). Kendra Tinsley, MS, CPPS; Michele L. Clark, MBA, CPHQ; Eric Cook-Wiens, MPH

Rising Star poster award: Baton Rouge General Medical Center,Improving Venous Thromboembolism Prophylaxis Rate, Baton Rouge General Experience (Poster 02). Jennifer Winchester, MD; Shohala Numaira, MD; Katie Cancienne; Darcy Stafford, RN; Joni Lemoine, RN; Alfred Manint, MBA; & Raju Vatsaval, MD

NPSF Poster Award: Parkview Regional Medical Center, Sepsis: Implementation of Evidence Based Care (Poster 29). Jackie Myers, RN, MSN, CENP


NPSF Poster Award: BJC Healthcare, An Innovative Approach to Reducing Severe Hypoglycemia Across a Large Healthcare System (Poster 18). Paul E. Milligan, Mary C. Bocox, Elizabeth Pratt, John Krettek, and William C. Dunagan


Many sincere thanks to our Poster Judging Panel:

Ann Scott Blouin, PhD, RN, FACHE
Executive Vice President, Customer Relations, The Joint Commission
Member, NPSF Board of Directors

Barbara Balik, EdD, MS, RN
Co-founder, Aefina Partners
Senior Faculty, Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Member, NPSF Board of Governors

Stephen Littlejohn, MA, MBA
Principal, Climb the Curve Communications, LLC,
Former Member, NPSF Board of Directors and Communications Committee

more Calendar

1/27/2017 » 2/1/2017
SSH Research Summit and International Meeting on Simulation in Healthcare

Professional Learning Series Webcast: Sleep Deprivation, Health Care Providers, and Patient Safety

Copyright ©2017 National Patient Safety Foundation. All Rights Reserved.
Membership Software  ::  Legal