Groups   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Search our Site
2013 Congress Awards
Share |

NPSF Stand Up for Patient Safety Management Award

The Stand Up for Patient Safety Management Award is granted to a member hospital of the National Patient Safety Foundation’s Stand Up for Patient Safety program in recognition of the successful implementation of an outstanding patient safety initiative that was led by, or created by, mid-level management. The initiative will have demonstrated evidence of patient safety improvement, with involvement of staff at all levels of the organization. The recipient hospital shall be able to demonstrate measurable, positive changes in care delivered at their facility as a result of this initiative.


Stand Up for Patient Safety Program Management Award: JPS Health Network
Fire Prevention in the Operating Room: Performing a Risk Assessment of Our Patients


Ambulatory Stand Up for Patient Safety Program Management Award: 97th Medical Group, Altus AFB
Standardizing Pediatric Visits through the Implementation of an Optimum Pediatric Checklist

The Doctors Company Foundation Young Physicians Patient Safety Award

The Doctors Company Foundation, in partnership with the Lucian Leape Institute at the National Patient Safety Foundation, presents The Doctors Company Foundation Young Physicians Patient Safety Award to recognize young physicians for their deep personal insight into the significance of patient safety work.


The winners are chosen from a field of third- and fourth-year medical students and first-year residents who were in hospital settings as of June 2012 or later. Candidates meeting that criteria were eligible to submit essays explaining their most instructional patient safety event, one that resulted in a personal transformation.


The 2013 award winners are listed below.

  • Lauren Boreta, BA, MD candidate, University of California San Francisco
  • Consuelo V. David, MD, MSc, University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Rajshri Mainthia, BS, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
  • Stephanie Ng, BA, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Stephen Nelson, BS, University of Connecticut
  • Neetika Srivastava, BS, Boston University School of Medicine 

Click on essays below to read - note that sequence of essays below does not correspond with the names above, in order to protect privacy.


Essay 1

Essay 2

Essay 3

Essay 4

Essay 5

Essay 6





more Calendar

1/27/2017 » 2/1/2017
SSH Research Summit and International Meeting on Simulation in Healthcare

Professional Learning Series Webcast: Sleep Deprivation, Health Care Providers, and Patient Safety

Copyright ©2017 National Patient Safety Foundation. All Rights Reserved.
Membership Software  ::  Legal